Wednesday, December 17, 2008

Shornur bypoll :CPM loses power

For the first time in history, the CPM lost power in Shornur municipality. In the byelections to nine wards in the Municipality, the Democratic Development Samithi (DDS) led by former Municipality vice-chairman M R Murali won eight wards and CPM bagged only one seat.

M R Murali was expelled from the CPM for anti-party activities and corruption charges. Murali, along with eight councillors, resigned and formed the DDS. He also won from the 26th ward with a majority of 323 votes. With that in the 30-member municipality the CPM has 14 seats, Congress-7, DDS-8 and BJP –1.

In the first ward, DDS candidate K Leela emerged victorious with a majority of 163 votes beating Unnikrishnan of the CPM. In the third ward B Vimala and in the fourth P Satheesan Master of DDS bagged victory.

DDS candidate P Govindan Kutty and K Sarala won the eighth and ninth ward. Though in the ninth ward CPM candidate's victory was announced first a recounting put Sarala the winner.

After being expelled from the CPM, Murali resigned from the post of municipal chairman and a bypoll was held. In the byelection Congress candidates did not contest in the election.

No comments:

Post a Comment